All data sent to Tago is stored in an online database (buckets) with very fast response time. Through the APIs you have full access to insert, read, remove or update the data from the buckets in real-time. If you prefer, you can activate your personal backup service to create a copy of this data to an off-line database. With this option activated, Tago back-end system will automatically make one backup for the selected bucket per day in your account.
Each backup will be stored in your Tago account. The backup function is very helpful in cases when you want to activate data retention that will automatically delete old data from your account, allowing you to reduce cost by removing data that are not accessed very often. You may have as many buckets with backup active as you want.
Backup storage does not count against your data record bucket storage limit, but will be counted in the backup storage (with a significant lower cost per data register).
Note that costs may occur to perform the backup operation. This cost normally will be charged only during the preparation of the backup. Check the current terms of your plan or contact Tago directly.
Be aware that the backups will not be generated all at once, and it will depend on the quantity of data and the period stored in each bucket. Just as a reference, one bucket with a 30 days records can take about one day to be completed.
The backup process for each bucket will always run at midnight of your time zone (defined in your Account Settings). The system will create one backup file per day. Therefore, if for example you have data stored from an entire year, the system will generate 365 backup files - one for each day.
You can recover the data from the backup area and move it back to the online database (Bucket) by selecting the files based on the period you need.
Only the data contained in the buckets can be visualized or analyzed in real-time. Any data located in the Backup need to be recovered in order to be processed by any of our service.
The recovered data will be backed up again at midnight (based on your time zone) and it will follow the data retention rules normally.